Welcome to the Wild Hawk Editing Newsletter!

Issue #1

Thank you for subscribing to the Wild Hawk Editing Newsletter!

First, I would like to tell you a little bit about myself and the business, and then what you can expect from this newsletter.

My name is Noella Handley. I specialize in speculative fiction (fantasy, science fiction, etc.), academic work in the humanities and social sciences, and tabletop roleplaying games.

I am a trained editor and earned my certificate in Copyediting from the University of California at San Diego Extension. I also have an MA in Linguistics from the University of Hawai’i at Manoa and BAs in History and Linguistics from The College of William & Mary. I gained experience in writing as well as editing and revising my writing and that of other students. In addition to being a lifelong fan of speculative fiction, I also attended the Alpha Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror Writing Workshop for Young Writers twice as a student and have assisted the workshop as a volunteer as an adult.

Writing is difficult, lonely work. With so many demands on your time, it can be hard to get manuscripts publication-ready. I offer editorial services such as developmental editing, copyediting, and proofreading to help polish manuscripts.

In this newsletter, I plan on exploring many topics related to writing, editing, and publishing. Some topics include tricky grammar topics, an overview of the publishing process, and DIY resources for indie publishing authors.

While I plan on reposting these articles to the blog on my website, they will always come out here first, in addition to special content exclusive to the newsletter.

Thank you for coming on this journey with me. Welcome!